Board of Directors

Charles Hunt - At-Large Member

Charles Hunt DO (UK)

Chair Mr. Hunt has over 22 years’ experience in osteopathic education. He graduated from the British School of Osteopathy in 1989 and worked in private practice until 2011 with a special interest in sports medicine. He is currently Principal and Chief Executive at the British School of Osteopathy, previously having been Vice Principal with responsibility for clinical practice. He sat for four years on the Academic Board of the University of Bedfordshire, which was responsible for academic strategy. He is a member of the Council of Osteopathic Education Institutions in the UK, and has sat on the Quality Assurance Agency benchmarking working group for osteopathy.

William Burke - At-Large Member

William Burke DO (US)

Chair-Elect Dr. Burke has served on the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) Board of Trustees since 2010 and has been appointed to numerous bureaus, councils and committees of the AOA. Dr. Burke, a board-certified Family Physician and Fellow of the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians, is dean of the Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine’s Central Ohio campus (Dublin, Ohio, USA). Dr. Burke earned his Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine degree at OU-HCOM and completed his internship and residency at Doctors Hospital of Columbus, where he served as chief resident. Dr. Burke currently serves as Director of the International Primary Care Educational Alliance. As part of the China Primary Care Program Team, he has made annual trips to Chengdu, Deyang, Leshan and Luzhou, China, since 2007, where he provided formal and informal education on the outpatient approach to common primary care conditions and family practice residency training.

Jane Carreiro - Vice Chair

Jane E. Carreiro DO (US)

Past Chair Dr. Carreiro is doubly board-certified in Family Medicine with Special Proficiency in Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine. She is a graduate of the University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine (UNECOM), where she currently is Section Head, Chair, and Associate Professor of OMM and DME/Program Director of Graduate Medical Education. Dr. Carreiro specializes in OMM, pain management, pediatric musculoskeletal and sports medicine, and otitis media. Dr. Carreiro is the 2011-2012 president of the American Academy of Osteopathy.


Page 1 of 3 | Next page